Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Ideas on how to secure furler and mast
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Frenchman
Deckhand

Member Avatar

USA
4 Posts

Initially Posted - 09/01/2012 :  19:42:55  Show Profile
Hello all! Had a couple questions for you.

Just got a new to me 85 SR/FK. I'm new to sailing and learning a lot through this site and plan to join soon. My boat came with some bow damage. The PO fixed it but did a really poor job on the glass work. The bow got crushed 4" down from the deck and most of the surrounding area. The PO replaced the portion of the top deck up to the anchor locker and replaced the forstay attachment with a chain plate that extends down the bow.

I started by grinding and cleaning out the inside and laying up mat with four layers of bias ply. I extended the bias down the length of the bow so all through bolt anchors for the chain stay will have 4" of solid backing to bolt through. I also plan on installing backing plates.

Now that that's done I need to start on the outside but in order to do that I need to remove the chain plate and furler to access the area. My questions are, what is the best way to secure the furler and do I need to secure the mast? If I need to secure the mast what is the best method? Thanks for the input!

Edited by - on

rrick
Captain

Members Avatar

USA
261 Posts

Response Posted - 09/01/2012 :  20:13:09  Show Profile