Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Estimating hours on an outboard - maintenance
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Voyager
Master Marine Consultant

Member Avatar

USA
5235 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/08/2020 :  19:29:52  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I’ve been running the Honda 8 since 2006 whilst replacing impellers, water pump housing, thermostat, bottom unit grease and do oil changes. I grease the grease fittings occasionally and lubricate the engine mount.

I have no idea how many hours are on the motor now since I never recorded each trip out and back into the bay, day trips to the next harbor over, overnight trips and long weekend trips.

I worry about the crank bearings, the long shaft bearings and the bottom unit bearings. The engine exhibits a fair amount of vibration, but it hasn’t changed appreciably over the life of the engine.

I guess I could just take the engine apart and check the slack in the bearings.

Anybody know how I can estimate the engine hours?

Bruce Ross
Passage ~ SR-FK ~ C25 #5032

Port Captain — Milford, CT

Edited by - Voyager on 04/08/2020 19:32:55

Stinkpotter
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

Djibouti
9015 Posts

Response Posted - 04/09/2020 :  06:09:46  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The motor was new in the beginning of 2002, and I'm very roughly guessing I put 40-60 hours on it between then and selling Passage in 2006. (Are you sure your first year wasn't 2007, after buying her from Bill _______?)

Dave Bristle
Association "Port Captain" for Mystic/Stonington CT
PO of 1985 C-25 SR/FK #5032 Passage, USCG "sixpack" (expired),
Now on Eastern 27 $+!nkp*+ Sarge
Go to Top of Page

islander