Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Boat yard Antics
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Voyager
Master Marine Consultant

Member Avatar

USA
5236 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/19/2015 :  16:20:03  Show Profile
So I'm at the boatyard and my neighbor just inherited a C30 from his Uncle. He's a total newbie. Today I'm there washing the hull and scraping the chips off the bottom into a bucket. Another neighbor is sanding with a vacuum attachment.
1st neighbor grabs his sander and starts sanding the bottom paint. No vacuum, no dust mask, no hat or goggles. I put on my dust mask and closed up my companionway.
A little while later he's sneezing his head off, choking and feeling like crap. His friend asks me whether I have an extra dust mask I can lend him. I gave him one, but now the damage is done. I walked him over to the second neighbor and showed him how to do it.
A picture's worth a 1000 words....
I guess I'm too much of a buttinski...

Bruce Ross
Passage ~ SR-FK ~ C25 #5032

Port Captain — Milford, CT

Edited by - Voyager on 04/19/2015 19:13:59

DavidBuoy
Admiral

Members Avatar

USA
707 Posts

Response Posted - 04/20/2015 :  04:45:32  Show Profile
Nothing like the blue snot rockets!

Captain Rob & Admiral Alyson
"David Buoy"-1985 C25 SK/SR #5053
Go to Top of Page

shnool
Former Capri-25 Tech Editor

Members Avatar

USA
1032 Posts

Response Posted - 04/20/2015 :  06:15:29  Show Profile  Visit shnool's Homepage
Um that stuff is beyond toxic... Might be good to get him to a hospital now, or call poison control center.