Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Backstay, Adjustable, Standard Rig vs. Stand. Rig
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Allmanjoy
1st Mate

Member Avatar

USA
44 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/13/2020 :  10:02:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
So couldn't find anything in the search on this subject, so trying to understand a couple of things on replacing my Backstay.

I'm new to sailing and still learning the basics. I need to replace the backstay, and figured since I am new to sailing that I'd just replace it with a standard set up. The adjustable backstay seems very interesting, but the forestay attaches to the top of the mast so is the adjustable backstay that advantageous? (Being that the top of the mast can't bend aft for a tighter camber.)

Hope that makes sense, still learning the sail speak.

Jay C 1985 C25 SR/SK

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5853 Posts

Response Posted - 04/13/2020 :  10:57:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
James, you're right that the top of the mast can't be pulled back any farther. (Well, you can bend the mast a little, if you adjust the stays to permit it, but not enough to really matter.) But that illustrates the fact that there's a widespread, almost universal, misunderstanding of what a backstay adjuster does for a boat like a C25 with a masthead rig. A backstay adjuster doesn't tighten the forestay so that you can point higher to windward. On a masthead rig, it's purpose is to loosen the forestay, which powers up the jib, so that you can sail faster downwind and in light air.