Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 What wind speeds to change head sail
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Treads
Deckhand

Member Avatar

1 Posts

Initially Posted - 10/27/2017 :  21:30:33  Show Profile
Just wondering what wind speed do others change head sails. The reason I ask is I change from my Hank-on 155% Genoa to the 110% when I cannot hold 22 degrees or less heel as read on here. I am still new to the boat and I have a race tomorrow with forecast winds @ 10mph on the lake and would like to start with the correct sail rather than panic to change before or during. I have a tall mast, fin keel and would like to hear from others.

Neil

Bill Holcomb
Admiral

Members Avatar

USA
769 Posts

Response Posted - 10/28/2017 :  10:25:15  Show Profile
Hi Neil,
Full Mainsail and 155 should be fine for breezes to 10 kts... depending on the condition of your sails. If the sails are old and stretched, you won't be able to flatten them as the breeze increases. So, excessive heeling. You won't be able to point with others with newer sails either.
Bill Holcomb - C25 Snickerdoodle #4839
Go to Top of Page

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5851 Posts

Response Posted - 10/28/2017 :  13:22:26  Show Profile
When you're cruising, the objective is to get to your destination safely, without damaging the boat, in comfort and quickly.

When you're racing, the objective is to get from start to finish safely and in the least amount of time. Comfort is of little concern, and you understand and accept the possibility that you might break equipment when you press the boat hard.