Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Electrical Ground
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bladeswell
Captain

Member Avatar

USA
490 Posts

Initially Posted - 02/18/2016 :  21:15:56  Show Profile  Visit Bladeswell's Homepage
Hello All,
Sense our boats,(most anyway), don't have inboard motors, What serves as our primary electrical ground ? Thanks.

Bladeswell

C25 TR FK Hull #973 1979 L-Dinette. So.Cal.

slim
Navigator

Members Avatar

USA
113 Posts

Response Posted - 02/19/2016 :  05:42:29  Show Profile
Hi Bladeswell

I am no expert on electrical however i can say that on your boat you will be dealing with both DC and AC and there will be a difference in the way each is handled by you. I think your best bet in understanding your electrical systems will be in reading the book Sailboat Electrics Simplified by Don Casey. It’s available on amazon, used now for about $10 for the hardback and worth every penny of it. I too am rewiring my boat at this time and this book has been a real lifesaver for me.

Slim

1978 - C25 - standard rig - Fixed keel #1040
Go to Top of Page

RickR
1st Mate

Members Avatar

USA
25 Posts

Response Posted - 02/19/2016 :  08:08:01  Show Profile
On my 81 I've just rewired, CD supplies a ground buss bar with that switch panel kit they offer. I ran two 10GA from each battery to that buss bar and it has additional space for a dozen or so returns. Running lights, anchor and steaming lights on the mast, all have a common ground/return to that buss along with cabin lights, stereo, etc. Hope that helps.

RickR
Jamestown, NY
81 C25/SK/SR/Trad #2668
"Vind Dansor"

Edited by - RickR on 02/19/2016 12:10:18