Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 250 Specific Forum
 Taking an inch off the top of the mast
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ecaj
Deckhand

Member Avatar

USA
3 Posts

Initially Posted - 12/05/2022 :  16:27:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I damaged the top of the mast where the two bolts hold the blocking device for the halyard. Has anyone had to cut down the top of the mast? It looks like I need to remove about 1 inch and remount the top hardware. Thanks for any assistance. I’m new to sailing.

ECAJ

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5851 Posts

Response Posted - 12/05/2022 :  20:00:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Without a photo of the damage, it's hard to offer advice, but, for me, Cutting an inch off the mast would be the last recourse. I'd take it to a good welder who knows how to weld aluminum and see if he can repair the damage.

Steve Milby J/24 "Captiva Wind"
previously C&C 35, Cal 25, C25 TR/FK, C22
Past Commodore
Go to Top of Page

Stinkpotter
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

Djibouti
9013 Posts

Response Posted - 12/06/2022 :  23:07:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You could end up needing a whole new set of custom-sized shrouds and stays, since the turnbuckles likely won't be able to take up the slack or allow the adjustments you should be able to make, and a standard set won't fit. Also, you'd either have to remount the boom gooseneck an inch lower on the mast or shorten the mainsail. Your furler and jib could also be issues.

Dave Bristle
Association "Port Captain" for Mystic/Stonington CT
PO of 1985 C-25 SR/FK #5032 Passage, USCG "sixpack" (expired),
Now on Eastern 27 $+!nkp*+ Sarge