Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 General Sailing Forum
 Learning to sail on a C25 with old/original sails
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hlprmnky
1st Mate

Member Avatar

USA
38 Posts

Initially Posted - 11/27/2022 :  11:58:39  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello! As folks in the C25 specific forum probably already know, I am a relative newbie who is coming up on being done with “initial boat projects” seasons and about to embark on “getting out to sail every day I can” season on a 1986 SR/FK C25, on Lake Michigan and based out of Michigan City, Indiana.

As part of my winter maintenance and layup, I sent my sails off to the local Quantum loft for inspection and recommendations about maintenance. They came back with the verdict that the sails don’t need much direct maintenance, just some over-sewing of corner seams on the (roller furling) genoa, but that the main is “crispy” and the genoa is “blown out and has lost all upwind shape”, but they didn’t condemn them as unusable or anything.

Now, over the winter I’m reading Wallace Ross’s Sail Power and reviewing my ASA textbooks, and thinking about my upcoming season of day sailing and hopefully some weekend trips to other harbors on the lake. I’m a big believer in the value of directed practice to increase skills and understanding, so my plans include spending a lot of time doing tacks, gibes, and working on sail shape and sail trim to make these things more automatic and build intuition, not just going out to have fun (though of course doing drills like this will be fun, as you are all aware I’m sure).