Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Trailer tire rating
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Volksaholic
1st Mate

Member Avatar

55 Posts

Initially Posted - 09/29/2021 :  14:58:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It's my first time posting so please be gentle if I missed some forum protocol or etiquette! I just picked up an '81 C25 TR/FK on a 2 axle trailer with typical trailer tires; great tread that is rotting so bad you can almost watch it progress. They're 225/75R15, Load Range D on 5 bolt wheels. Somewhere I saw a recommendation that a FK C25 should be carried on Load Range E but the only tire topic I found on this forum suggested a Load Range D tire.
https://www.catalina-capri-25s.org/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=31640

I'm a noob when it comes to determining weight rating for a trailer load this size but it seems like it would be prudent to have a little excess capacity per tire in case you lose one. I also know from driving high profile vehicles that sidewall stiffness makes a big difference in handling with crosswinds. Is Load Range D sufficient, or should I be shopping for a Load Range E? I don't want to waste money, but I also don't want to be penny wise and pound foolish and end up craning my new baby out of a ditch.

I just noticed on eTrailer that for my wheel bolt pattern they don't list a Load Range E in a tire/wheel combo. Does that answer the question?