Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Capri 25 Specific Forum
 Spinnaker
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

supersailor
Deckhand

Member Avatar

4 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/14/2020 :  20:35:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
How do you guys launch your spinnakers on the C25? I am new to the C25 platform and my spinnaker doesn't have halyards or sheets. What is the optimal length for your spinnaker halyard, and how long is each spinnaker sheet? What type of line do you use?

SailTowery
1st Mate

Members Avatar

64 Posts

Response Posted - 04/15/2020 :  12:26:51  Show Profile  Visit SailTowery's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Are you talking about the Capri 25 or Catalina 25?

Ben
Little Wing
Hull #422
https://www.facebook.com/capri25littlewing/
Go to Top of Page

supersailor
Deckhand

Members Avatar

4 Posts

Response Posted - 04/15/2020 :  20:48:47  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The Capri 25.
Go to Top of Page

joearcht
Navigator

Members Avatar

USA
236 Posts

Response Posted - 04/16/2020 :  03:52:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Halyard length will depend on how you run the halyard. My boat came with the halyard exiting the mast on the starboard side of the mast and running into a jamb cleat mounted on the mast. I don't think this was a factory setup. I suppose you could exit through the mast base, run through the deck blocks back to the cockpit. The size is 5/16" or 8mm. Any good low stretch line should be acceptable.
My sheets are the same size range and type line, 70' each.

I've experimented with launching from a bow bag and the forward hatch and the cabin hatch.