Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 1978 C25 #435 Bow Repair
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

VictorS
1st Mate

Member Avatar

Mexico
32 Posts

Initially Posted - 06/26/2017 :  18:27:43  Show Profile
Hi everyone,

As suggested I am oppening a new thread for my bow challenge.

Previous feedback I initially posted on Jeremy Duckīs thread was:
"Here you have some pictures of my "little" bow issue. Being told by the PO that it hitted the dock in a storm.

I have no experience with fiberglass so the strategy is:

(i) Learn from our forums, ask for support, comments & advice;

(ii) Ask for help, check. A close friend fellow sailor and fellow ultralight aircraft pilot has already took a look on it, got some of the materials but it was not possible to start today because of rain; will retry on the forthcoming days.

(iii) I will attend some lessons at the specialized glass store which will help me through the process; my idea is to start getting knowledge on the skills needed to fix my own boat.

I think I will also go for the Stem Fitting w/ Anchor Roller upgrade.

Will keep you posted, regards."

Thanks for your support on the other thread wich was:

(i) From Todd Lewis:
"looks like it pulled out the bow eye during the storm."
Actually not, the bow eye is around 4" below as you can see on the following picture:

And about the "whale eyes" mexican regulation: I actually donīt know, it wonīt be an issue if it is, but I always do my best to comply with the US regulations since I am clear are the proper way to go, and of course from what Iīve learned about it these days it is safer to have the lights on the bow rail.