Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Life lines yes or no
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Sailynn
Navigator

Member Avatar

USA
178 Posts

Initially Posted - 08/09/2016 :  19:41:57  Show Profile
Been sailing 30 years plus and never cared for lifelines on smaller boats. I'm a certified keelboat Instructor and am very comfortable on smaller boats. I have two artificial knees and am a well fed skipper. This is our 6th C25 and I am trying to convince my hubby to remove the lifelines like we did on our C22's. He says he can't remember seeing a C25 without lifelines. Does anyone have theirs removed and could you send a picture?

Lynn Buchanan
1988 C25 SR/WK #5777
Sailynn
Nevada City, CA

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5851 Posts

Response Posted - 08/10/2016 :  04:37:57  Show Profile
I prefer lifelines generally, but all the Cal 25s in the one design class that I race in have removed them, because they interfere with sail trimming. Lifelines give you one last chance to grab hold of something just before you slide off the foredeck, which can happen more easily on a smaller boat. To compensate for their absence, I require anyone who leaves the cockpit on my boat to be wearing a pfd. Anyone who considers removing them should practice MOB boat handling. As an instructor, I'm sure you're already well-practiced in that regard. I keep an inflatable pfd on board for the foredeck crew to use, in case (s)he doesn't have one, because they're more comfortable and less cumbersome to use.