Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Composting Head - A viable option
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Martin Nelick
Deckhand

Member Avatar

USA
13 Posts

Initially Posted - 07/29/2014 :  11:17:52  Show Profile
I have used marine heads in the past, and generally they are an excellent option for most boaters. My 87 just came with a Porta Potti (those are a lot of fun) so it was obviously not going to work for long-term cruising.

These were my concerns:

1. I would rather not have more thru-hulls.
2. Holding tanks are fine but they take up space.
3. I have had some intimate experiences with marine heads in the past and it can get a little nasty.

I went ahead and bought an Airhead composting toilet 6 months ago, thinking there was a good chance this composting thing was kind of a scam but just had to see for myself. I have used this toilet exclusively for the last two months or so and I must say it is pretty amazing.

So here's the nitty gritty. All I do is dump two one-gallon ziploc bags of peat moss into the main container, do my thing for 1-2 months and dump the bucket. That sounds gross, but I was thrilled to see that the moss turned everything into dirt - and I mean DIRT. Looked like dirt, smelled like dirt. Put it in a trash bag and take it to the dump, or in my case since I am offshore, just dump it. Simple as that. Those who use their boats for weekend use and daysailing have it even better because the longer it sits, the better job it does. A weekender could easily go for an entire season without emptying the head. For a single liveaboard cruiser, 1-2 months.