Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Sail Size Rule of Thumb: Central Long Island Sound
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

gbward
Deckhand

Member Avatar

USA
12 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/15/2014 :  10:13:04  Show Profile

Hello,

I just purchased a 1978 C25 SK/SR. My home port is New Haven harbor and I was wondering if anybody (local) can provide some rules of thumb for sail size and configuration vs wind speed.

I am a relative newbie (PO of a sunfish and Compac 16) and will be carrying my wife and kids on board - so comfort is more important than performance.

I have the following sails:
-Mainsail - standard rig, single reef
-Wire furled 135% genoa
-Hank on 150% geona
-Wire furel 100% jib

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Geoff

1978 C25 SR/SK #0776

Edited by - on

Davy J
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

USA
1511 Posts

Response Posted - 04/15/2014 :  10:59:28  Show Profile
I'm not local to you, but my rule of thumb is:
when the wife starts to complain, I start to reduce sail.......

She's gotten better over the years..... we almost had the rail in the water Sunday.....

Edited by - on
Go to Top of Page

Stinkpotter
Master Marine Consultant

Members Avatar

Djibouti
9013 Posts

Response Posted - 04/15/2014 :  11:10:38  Show Profile
Well, I wish you had a "real" furler that would make that 135 usable in just about all the conditions you're likely to be in. But relative to your previous boats, the C-25 will seem safe and comfortable, and is virtually impossible to knock down.