Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Bottom Paint
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

JanS48
Navigator

Member Avatar

USA
141 Posts

Initially Posted - 04/03/2015 :  20:39:06  Show Profile
Greetings All - another newbie question.
C25 FK STD Rig
This is my first year owning my C25, the bottom is in need of painting, I'm planning on scraping away anything loose and lightly sanding the rest. How much paint am I going to need? The current paint is an Interlux blue ablative. On those bare spots is two coats sufficient? Is is Ok to roll on the lions share? Should it be thick or thin going on? How soon after painting should it be put in the water for the season?

Thanks in Advance
Jan

82 C25 SR FK
Sailing out of Newport Harbor.

Steve Milby
Past Commodore

Members Avatar

USA
5851 Posts

Response Posted - 04/04/2015 :  08:15:57  Show Profile
If there are bare spots, I suggest you apply two fairly thin coats this year. As I recall, one gallon should do the job with a little left over. I apply it with a short haired roller, and I use a cheap brush for places that I can't reach with a roller. Antifouling paint will cause cardboard-type roller covers to disintegrate. Usually a roller cover that has either a plastic core or a phenolic core will be ok. You can usually buy them at most hardware stores. Read the label on the paint can, but you can usually launch a boat 24 hours after the last coat. Mask the waterline stripe with tape.

If you store the boat on the hard during the winter months, then one coat will probably be enough each year, unless you see some thin or bare spots.