Catalina - Capri - 25s International Assocaition Logo(2006)  
Assn Members Area · Join
Association Forum
Association Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Forum Users | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Catalina/Capri 25/250 Sailor's Forums
 Catalina 25 Specific Forum
 Luff Foil Systems
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

capelyddol
1st Mate

Member Avatar

USA
62 Posts

Initially Posted - 10/06/2014 :  19:34:24  Show Profile  Visit capelyddol's Homepage
Can someone give me advice on luff foil systems? My boat had the Head Foil 2 system, but the forestay's been wrapped round the mast while it was up for sale and the foil's got all bent and gone rigid. I doubt I'll be able to attach the forestay to the bow fitting without removing the foil altogether. Is there any way to straighten it out, or is it done for? If the latter, what are my options? I'm new to this modern nautical technology. In my day you had jib hanks. I suppose that's one option, but none of my headsails have grommets. Besides, I'll be spending all winter fitting slugs to the mainsail. As some of you may know I have a weird mainsail that's not the right size and presently has only a luff-rope.

If I need a new luff foil system, which is best (and easiest to fit)? Also, I don't have a headsail furler. The boat was supposed to have a CDI, but didn't have when we got it home. Can I have both - a furler and a luff foil system? Do I need both? Will a furler also serve as a luff foil system? When I Google 'luff foil systems' I read that I must keep my luff tape clean! What's luff tape? This sailing game has got VERY confusing!

Edited by - on

dasreboot
Admiral

Members Avatar

803 Posts

Response Posted - 10/07/2014 :  04:22:53  Show Profile  Visit dasreboot's Homepage
luff tape is the strip of webbing on the luff of the sail that feeds up the slot in the foil. like boltrope, but thinner.